• You are here:
  • Home »

3 Second Violation

This is gonna sound dumb coming from a high school basketball player but….if you only have one foot in the lane on offense does the referee still count 3 seconds?

Comments for 3 Second Violation

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jan 24, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Actually, a great basketball question…
by: Joe Waters – webmaster Hey Caleb,The 3 second violation can often be one of the hardest and most confusing basketball rules to understand.

To answer your question…Having any part of either foot on or inside the line is considered being in the lane.

So, the referee would start his 3 second count.

Hope this answers your question.

Best of luck,
Joe